top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCheryl

ABCs of Living with Aphasia and Apraxia - “A”




I’m not an expert. I do, however, have life experiences that I’d like to share with you..that may be helpful to you or someone you know with communication challenges. I have had both aphasia and apraxia of speech since May of 2019. I’ve learned a lot in these short years. In fact I’m still learning to live well with Aphasia and Apraxia of speech. Here are a few words that have been important to me beginning the letter "A":


APHASIA Definition from the Mayo Clinic. Aphasia is a condition that robs you of the ability to communicate. It can affect your ability to speak, write and understand language, both verbal and written.

Aphasia typically occurs suddenly after a stroke or a head injury. But it can also come on gradually from a slow-growing brain tumor or a disease that causes progressive, permanent damage (degenerative). The severity of aphasia depends on a number of conditions, including the cause and the extent of the brain damage.


Once the cause has been addressed, the main treatment for aphasia is speech and language therapy. The person with aphasia relearns and practices language skills and learns to use other ways to communicate. Family members often participate in the process, helping the person communicate.


APRAXIA OF SPEECH

Apraxia of speech (AOS) is an acquired oral motor speech disorder affecting an individual's ability to translate conscious speech plans into motor plans, which results in limited and difficult speech ability. By the definition of apraxia, AOS affects volitional (willful or purposeful) movement patterns, however AOS usually also affects automatic speech.[1]

Individuals with AOS have difficulty connecting speech messages from the brain to the mouth.[2] AOS is a loss of prior speech ability resulting from a brain injury such as a stroke or progressive illness.


ATTITUDE

You can't always change you circumstances, but you can change your attitude. I can't change the fact that I had a stroke that left me with some numbness in my face and right hand and that left me to deal with the resulting aphasia and apraxia. What I can do, is make sure my attitude is positive and I take steps every day to recover as best I can.


A TEAM

On the 2nd anniversary of my stroke I wrote about my A TEAM. They have supported me and helped me with my recovery. I would not have been able to accomplish what I have had so far without them. (it


ALLOW

I would like people who talk to me to allow me to express my thoughts completely before giving me the words.


ACCEPTANCE

I have come to accept the fact that I can’t speak as quickly as I could before. Through the years I have accepted that I make mistakes in my speech and with word retrieval; now I say, "I may not be able to do that today, but with time and practice I might be able to do it tomorrow." Accept but not give in.


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page