top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCheryl

Bring your Heart and Brain together

I am participating in the free Hay House "You Can Heal Your Life" Summit which takes place from January 18 to January 25. On Day 1 of this Summit, I listened to Gregg Braden's workshop, A Secret Technique. He explains how we can change our lives by self regulation and Neuroplasticity (one of my favorite words). Many times, we view how we feel based on our external environment. If the day is going well, we have a positive attitude. And when things aren't going well externally we have a bad day and are in a bad mood. We can't control most of what happens externally, but we have total control over our internal environment - our thoughts, our beliefs, our perceptions, etc. What if we could have our internal environment control how we feel? I think we can. We don't need to be passive. We can actively activate our brain and heart connection (coherence).


Gregg Braden shows us how to harmonize Heart and the brain in a meditation. When we optimize our heart feelings and the brain, we can be more resilient, resolve stress, be healthier, become more intuitive, and have better concentration, learning and memory. In four easy steps you can do this meditation.


Focus on inner awareness

  1. Touch your heart

  2. slow your breathing. By slowing breathing, you tell your body you are safe

  3. Feel. A feeling of either gratitude, care, appreciation or compassion activates your heart.

  4. Ask your heart these questions:

Say "My Heart....What do you want me to know?"

"My Heart....What do you want need from me right now"


Then listen to what your heart says.


Here is a video explaining what the heart brain meditation is:

(for the meditation itself, go to 13:00 minutes in)


For me, there was an immediate connection to this meditation. I have been studying how meditation helps in stroke recovery. I have also known how the practice of Reiki and its meditative practice can heal. In Reiki, one starts with thanking your higher power; for me that is God. I start by putting my hand over my heart (chakra) and I ask God to allow the Reiki energy to flow for the his highest good of all. When I do this, I feel his energy and his peace. Then I give Reiki energy to the body. And at the end, I thank God.


I felt the same powerful energy when I did the Heart Brain Meditation described by Gregg Braden. When I do Reiki well, I get a powerful feeling in my chest and I got the same one when I felt gratitude. The thing that most surprised me what the question part of the meditation. I didn't expect an answer, but I got one quite quickly. That usually happens after much prayer. I think it might be the right combination for me. When the heart is activated, I found that my brain which is usually thinking, became quite quit. This hasn't happened with meditation in the past. If you've followed this blog, you know that having all these thoughts all the time, without having the ability to express them is quite frustrating.


If you would like to explore the topic more, I am including some links.


the science of Heart brain - the heart is more than a pump

https://www.heartmath.org/research/science-of-the-heart/


an article on the benefits of heart brain meditation: https://alleviant.com/12-benefits-of-brain-heart-coherence/


MY QUESTION for YOU:

Do you meditate? What kind works best for you?







11 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page