top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCheryl

Channeling My Inner Dr. Seuss

Last week my SLP and I discovered that I have real challenges with rhyming due to the aphasia. She asked me to channel my inner Dr. Seuss and this is I came up with. I hope you enjoy.....


APHASIA, it’s in my life

If it happens to you or your wife

Be prepared for some strife


Let me tell you what it‘s like

It’s not as easy as riding a bike

no, not as easy as a tyke


The words in my head are such a delight

But when I try to speak or write

What comes out is quite a sight


You have so much more to say

but nonsense words get in the way

But practice and words will stay


It’s ok, to not be ok sometime

You might have to relearn to rhyme

But everything soon will be just fine


It is really ok to be sad

or even at times be mad

with time you can be glad


You work hard and raise the bar

be proud of who you really are

Then, you will really be a star



32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page