top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCheryl

Flowing….. so far, so good!

“You don’t always need to plan. Sometimes you just need to breathe, trust, let go, and see what happens. “ Mandy Hale


I believe, what has made me successful so far in my "recovery" from stroke and able to improve my communication skills enough to have a simple conversation, be able to write this blog and read and understand basic emails and other texts is that I was absolutely focused. I was singularly focused on getting my “voice” back. I went to speech therapy with three wonderful therapists. Found ways to expand what I learned in therapy. I planned. I practiced and practiced. I found unique ways to build my communication skills. First by enrolling in BU aphasia groups. Then by starting my own aphasia groups to continue working on my skills. (At first, I did this for myself and then it was important to help others too.)


At this point in my life, almost 5 years into my journey, I am really ready to let go of the outcome. I am not going to try to manipulate everything. Since the beginning of the year, I thought about the phrase "Let go and let God". That is only one small part of what "flow" means to me now. “Flow” is my word of the year 2024.


This year I joined a Facebook group for using a Word of the year called, One Word, organized by Lisa. Her website is www.Lisanotes.com



Everyone in this group, at some time was interested in setting a Word of the Year and most are actively using their Word of the Year (or their One Word) to guide them as I am. Lisa is wonderful and gives us suggestions how to make our word more meaningful and this month, she suggested we look up the meaning of the word, get synonyms for our word and also antonyms for our word.


__________________________________________________________________________________

From Lisa's latest post:

"This is an easy—but beneficial—exercise to do each year with your One Word.


1. DEFINE IT

Look up your word in the dictionary. Does it have more than one meaning? How many of its meanings are you using for your practice this year? Which meaning is most applicable to you?


2. SAME AS

List some of your word’s synonyms. If you had to choose one of these as a backup word for this year, which would you choose? Why? 


3. OPPOSITE OF

List some of your word’s antonyms. Understanding what your word does NOT mean might help you understand what it DOES mean. What insights do you gain from its opposite?"

__________________________________________________________________________________


You know I am the queen of Googling. With aphasia, using google to get the meaning of a word and especially synonyms helps me tremendously. I would be totally lost without this strategy. Before I decided on my word of the year, I looked up definitions and synonyms. I wrote about the meaning of my word of the year 2024 "Flow" and synonyms for it in my post in January. At that time, I shared that to me, Flow involves three things:  awareness, presence, and energy. These have been the things I have focused on.


But I am going to share my renewed understanding of the word by using Lisa's suggestions above and what has come to me so far this year.


DEFINITION of FLOW

noun

the action or fact of moving along in a steady, continuous stream.

example: "the flow of water into the pond"

This year I want to continue moving forward. Somethings, like the toastmaster's group we started last year continue to this year and help me to work on my written and oral communication skills. I don't have to expend energy on creating it because it already works. it just flows. I can just concentrate on creating and presenting my speeches.


from psychology - "FLOW"

"in positive psychology, also known colloquially as being in the zone, is the mental state in which a person performing some activity is fully immersed in a feeling of energized focus, full involvement, and enjoyment in the process of the activity. In essence, flow is characterized by the complete absorption in what one does, and a resulting transformation in one's sense of time."

"In essence, flow is characterized by the complete absorption in what one does, and a resulting transformation in one's sense of time. Flow is the melting together of action and consciousness; the state of finding a balance between a skill and how challenging that task is."

When I give myself permission to sit with my creative side (decorate my bullet journal, create a piece of neuroart), I flow.


When I think about a topic for the blog or podcast, take the time needed to solidify the purpose and actually post the blog or upload the video podcast, I flow.


When I do chores and am absolutely present (and say I "get to" instead of "have to" and be grateful for the experience) I flow.



SYNONYMS for FLOW

Be open

surrender

These two synonyms came to me through my faith and spirituality. Every day this Lent, I read the gospel reading and reflection offered by the Notre Dame community. One day the gospel talked about be open and it resonated with me. I want to be open to all opportunities. I can best do that by flowing - not trying to manipulate what I want, but accept what the universe (spirit, God, etc.) gives me.


On Passion Sunday, the homily was about Surrender. Specifically how Jesus had to surrender to his fate - being condemned to die on the cross. I knew immediately that part of the definition of flow to me is to surrender not only to the will of God, but also surrender my need to control things.


ANTONYMS for FLOW

Struggle

cease

stop


These are what I want to avoid, of course. I was a bit worried that flow - as in go with the flow - would make me complacent - stop my progress. I know that I want to continue to improve and live my best life so I know that flow will continue to move me forward this year.


Until next time……





26 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page