top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCheryl

July 23 - a week in RI

What a week! We packed so much into this week; I’m sure I will forget to document everything here. Thank goodness we have some pictures. Unfortunately, sometimes we were having so much fun that we forgot. One of these times was Sunday when we had a small number of family members over for the afternoon. I feel so bad for not having pictures of these people because they are so special to Kiera (people she zooms with on Sundays).


And why didnt I include pictures of Kiera? Her parents have decided to not post any pictures on social media. It’s a bit annoying because she is so cute, but I wholeheartedly agree. Therefore, any pictures I post will not include her. (this makes my social media, especially FB kind of boring.)

On Monday and Tuesday I watched my granddaughter, Kiera, while her mother, father and my husband worked. We had so much fun. Favorite indoor activities were: play doh, painting, playing with her kitchen sink (with real running water), ironing, coloring and of course, reading books. Favorite outdoor activities: picking up stick and piling them in the wheelbarrow, seeing and talking to the birds, bubbles, and running.


On Wednesday my daughter took the morning off and the girls went to the dairy farm. Visiting the cows is one of my favorite activities. (Note: I try to go every August for my birthday. I know, I’m strange.) We talked to the calves, bought milk and other goodies, including a stuffed cow.


Thursday was zoo day! Five adults and one child. My father and my sister came with us. Kiera loves the zoo. We have been to the Richmond zoo many times and are now members. We were looking forward to the Roger Williams Park Zoo, mostly for the elephants which the Richmond zoo does not have. Favorite animals were the elephant, of course, gibbons, red panda, and the petting zoo, where Kiera had the chance to pet the goats. My favorite, besides the elephants, was the boa constrictor snake that a docent walked around with.

Friday’s adventure was to the beach. We went to a small beach on Warwick Neck called Oakland Beach. We had lunch at Iggy’s. Who can come to RI without having clam cakes and chowder? Other favorites there are Del‘s lemonade (RI official drink) and doughboys.


And today is the big family gathering/cookout. My father is one of seven. Each sibling except one had children. I have 16 cousins. Only one of the cousins doesn’t have children. I would have to sit down to count. Needless to say, a lot of people are expected to be at this party. We are getting ready now.


until next time…..




16 views6 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page