top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCheryl

July 4 Independence Day

Happy July 4. As we celebrate Independence Day, I am pondering what is to be independent. How much we long to be independent when we are very young. We can’t wait to be an adult when we can make all our decisions. Be self sufficient. not depending on anyone. But how many of us can say that we don’t depend on others? I know I have depended on my parents to support me with emotional support and sometimes financial. I depend on my husband. He is my rock. He is my best friend. I could have not stayed at home when my children were little without his support. When I went back to work after the kids went to school, I was able to follow my passion and work for nonprofit organizations where I could help people and not make a lot of money. I also depend on my sister for guidance and friendship.

so when I had a stroke and was totally dependent on others, why did that bother me so? I thought I was a great patient. Motivative to get back my abilities. Doing what ever I possible could to take care of myself. I was so proud of myself.

My family didn’t think the same. They thought that I was unreasonable, irresponsible and frustrating. until next time……




in·de·pend·ent

[ˌindəˈpendənt] ADJECTIVE

  1. free from outside control; not depending on another's authority: "the study is totally independent of central government" · [more]synonyms:freethinking · individualistic · unconventional · maverick · free · [more]

  2. not depending on another for livelihood or subsistence: "I wanted to remain independent in old age" synonyms: self-sufficient · self-supporting · self-sustaining · self-reliant · self-standing · able to stand on one's own two feet · self-contained · self-made

  3. capable of thinking or acting for oneself: "advice for independent travelers" NOUN

    1. an independent person or body: "one of the few independents left in the music business"




6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page