top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCheryl

Memoir Monday 4 - (UBC23)

In order to write about my progress on Memoir Mondays I reviewed a binder that I created for the year 2020-2021. I found a notebook for the Hay House Writer's Challenge. I believe I also have another notebook somewhere, but can’t seem to find it here. I may have taken it to our apartment in VA. Which brings to the feeling that I really need to get organized if I truly want to write this memoir.


The Who, What, When, Where, Why and How

Looking at the past 3 Mondays, I see that I told you about the what, when, where, why and how. The only thing that’s missing is the WHO. And that probably is the most important.


Who would be the most likely to pick up my memoir?


A person who...


* has had a stroke

* has challenges living with aphasia, apraxia or dysarthria

* is a care partner of a loved one who has had a stroke or someone with aphasia or apraxia

* is a medical professional interested in learning more about the lived experience (stroke, aphasia, apraxia)

* is looking for hope after stroke, aphasia, apraxia

* is interested in Living Well With Aphasia/apraxia


I think about this a lot. I feel like my blog is a precursor to writing my memoir. I think the same people as above would find my blog interesting / or, I hope, helpful. I'm not sure if I am reaching my these people, or "my niche". Or I don't know how to reach them more effectively.


Whose story would be on the shelf next to mine?


Another exercise in the Hay House writer’s challenge was to find other books that would be like ours, i.e. sitting on the shelf next to ours in the bookstore. Even though it was during the height of Covid we were encouraged to go to an actual bookstore near us. I went to one of my favorite places, Amazon, lol. I know, I am a rebel.

Here are some I found:


Debra Meyerson, Identity Theft, Rediscovering Ourselves after Stroke


Stacie Broke (al)Lone, Thriving A Stroke

https://www.amazon.com/My-Stroke-of-Insight-audiobook/dp/B001QCZTWU/ref=sr_1_4?crid=1MJYO7KS2CIJC&keywords=memoirs+about+stroke&qid=1674511034&sprefix=memoirs+about+stroke%2Caps%2C80&sr=8-4


Lauren Marks, A Stitch in Time


Ellayne Ganzfried, The Word Escapes Me


David Dow, Healing the Broken Brain

https://www.amazon.com/Healing-Broken-Brain-audiobook/dp/B071R7G43V/ref=sr_1_1?crid=FZZIYSU1HK2L&keywords=healing+the+broken+brain&qid=1674511549&sprefix=healing+the+broken%2Caps%2C92&sr=8-1

My Stroke 450 days from Severe Apraxia


Peter Levine, Stronger After Stroke

After Aphasia


Jill Bolte, My Stroke of Insight


Thomas Broussard, Stroke Diary


There are many more examples of memoirs that I would be competing with. If/when published, it would probably be self published and available for free.


I hope if you are interested in either stroke recovery or living well with aphasia that you consider reading some or all of these fine memoirs. And of course I hope you will continue to follow me on my stroke journey and journey of Living Well with Aphasia..


until next time......




13 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page