top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCheryl

Motivation. 10 ways to increase self motivation

I’ve been thinking a lot about motivation. What makes us succeed and what stands in our way of success? In fact, this is not a new topic for me. I have been fascinated by the topic for most of my life, especially after I became a GED teacher. There are so many factors that make us successful or not. And our motivation is a key factor.


After the stroke, it was so easy for me to make goals. I could look at all my challenges, both physical and communication, and see what I wanted to be able to accomplish someday.


I wanted to have full range of motion in my arm, especially my shoulder. I wanted be able to talk with my family, friends and others in the public to get my needs met. And ultimately I wanted to get back to work. Over time, in my recovery, things weren’t that clear. Once I regained the full use of my right arm and could communicate all the really important things, what was my motivation to improve further. I had already lost my job and people didn’t seem to care that I slurred my words and talked funny. But I still wanted, no needed, to improve. But the big goals, the most important goals, I thought, were met. How could I re-motivate myself and set new goals? How do I stay motivated when I could just be satisfied with what I have.


So, here are 10 things that I’ve learned about motivation:

  1. Move toward something. Set goals, resolutions or intentions that are realistic, that match your core values, and move you toward something you really want. The reason is important.

  2. Track your progress. Even small wins will keep you going. This year I have included a Habit Tracker in my planner.

  3. Change the language that you use. Instead of saying “I have to”, say “I want to”. This small change can make a difference in your motivation to do something.

  4. Accept assistance. Ask for help and encouragement. Having a buddy system or even someone to share what you do can help.

  5. Accept mistakes. We all make mistakes or have days when we don‘t accomplish what we set out to do. Don’t be hard on yourself or beat yourself up for being human. Treat each day as a new beginning…. because it is.

  6. Visualize. See yourself as completing the goal or getting what you want. Make a dream or vision board. And definitely what down the goals, resolutions, or intentions. This makes them more real and you have a visual reminder.

  7. Small steps. Breaking goals into smaller, more doable steps helps you achieve something quicker. The small wins make you want to do more.

  8. Make time. Fit the activities into times of day that fit with your schedule and lifestyle. If you are a morning person, schedule the thing then. If your day, is chuck full, you will have to forgo some other activity. You have to prioritize if you really want to make your goal a reality. Things just don't fit it magically.

  9. Focus. Don’t overwhelm yourself. Focus on 1 to 2 goals/resolutions/intentions at the same time.

  10. Rewards. Reward yourself. Granted you are doing this to achieve something you really want and that brings its own satisfaction. It doesn’t hurt to give yourself a reward periodically to celebrate you and your achievements.

I‘ve just read that most people quit working toward their New Years resolutions on the 12th day of January. On this January 12, can you share what your resolutions were and are you still working on them?

If you find yourself being the 80% who quit your New Year's resolutions, maybe you can reread my 10 ways to increase self motivation again and try again. It’s never to late to start working on your goals. There is no magic date to start.



19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page