top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCheryl

Nurture November Day 7 Heart Healthy Diet

There is a lot of debate out in the world as to what is the best diet to follow. (diet here is defined as all that we eat not that we need to lose weight) My cardiologist would like for me to be a vegetarian or plant based. My neurologist recommends either a plant based diet or a Mediterranean one.


For years I have followed a low carb diabetic diet. This worked best for me to feel healthy and keep my A1C low. After I had the stroke, food didn't taste very good to me. I lost my appetite for most things and I quickly lost 20 pounds. That the best way to lose weight.


Now that most food tastes ok, some really good, I've moved to more of a Mediterranean diet that focuses on oil olive, nuts, vegetables, fish, chicken and beef infrequently. I still need to adapt the meals to make sure they are low carb. I am also incorporating some plant based recipes.


If you would like to learn more about the Mediterranean diet, I've provided a few links.





I am really interested in finding more recipes I can use.


now, I use the following cookbooks:

Forks over Knives (plant based)

The Effective Low-Carb Instant Pot Cookbook

Mediterranean Cookbook for Two

The Effective Instant Pot Cookbook

Instant Pot Cookbook 500 recipes Quick and Easy


And I'm always looking for good heart healthy recipes on the internet. I have always liked to cook and bake. Now that I have more time, I try to do this even more.


Tomorrow I'll share some of my favorites.... Until then I hope you have enjoyed this beautiful Sunday, especially those who have had an extra hour.






22 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page