top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCheryl

Thankful Thursday 3 - (UBC19)

I am absolutely thankful for my ability to write again. It’s been a long, slow process. Even though I’m still not where I want to be, I know that I’m more fortunate

than others who struggle more.


So what helped me?

what ha

people

Of course the exercises my professional speech therapists have been given me have been instrumental. I have thanked each of them in my blog before, but I cannot ever thank them enough. In the beginning reading recipes and short articles helped me learn to summarize. As time went by, I would read more extensive articles and even books, and be able to not only summarize, but be able to make inferences and write reviews. I was eventually able with support from my SLP to write down the story of my stay in the hospital after the stroke. Now 3 1/2 years later, I’m finally able to share that with hospital staff. I am thankful for that.


inspirational quotes and Twitter


Because Twitter limits how much you text you can write, I felt it was a perfect vehicle for practicing my writing. Sometimes I responded and retweeted something a person I follow wrote and many times I wrote about inspirational quotes I found that helped me explained what I was going through or what I believed. Because it also allows me to post a picture I started making my own posters using Canva and free pictures from pixabay.com. This helped me with my intention to be more creative.


During the month of October 2021, I tweeted everyday about Optimism. Here are a few of my tweets and pictures:


Optimistic October. For me, one of the most important factors of #StrokeRecovery has been having #optimism that I would regain my voice after #aphasia and being able to pronounce sounds with #ApraxiaOfSpeech in order to have meaningful #Conversation and get back to helping others


Optimistic October Day 2. The road to #StrokeRecovery can be a bumpy road. You can do this. Learn from any mistakes and missteps along the way and you can achieve your #goals. #LivingWellWithAphasia #optimism




Optimistic October day 7. Even when you have a challenging day, know that there is a way to rise above the present circumstances. And remember great days and the things you accomplish. Remembering these days will give you #optimism. #LivingWellWithAphasia #LifeAfterStroke

Optimistic October day 28. At every step of the #StrokeRecovery we can come up with new ideas of how we can use our strengths to make our lives better and possibly help others as well. #optimism #LivingWellWithAphasia


#OptimisticOctober day 26. I’ve never been a dancer, however, after #Stroke, I have certainly learned that taking a step back is not a disaster; it’s normal. Don’t just focus on the back steps, focus on the whole #recovery dance. Eventually it will take you where you want to go


Optimistic October day 25. Keep looking up…..you never know what you can find. #LivingWellWithAphasia. #StrokeThriver #optimism


If you are curious and want to follow me on Twitter, you can find me at @usingmyvoice3 or search #LivingWellWithAphasia


I hope today's post makes you more thankful and optimistic!


until next time.........



43 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page