top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCheryl

You are Fabulous And Somebody Loves YOU!

This month, the shortest month of the year, can feel so long because of the cold, snowy weather here in RI. I have to keep reminding myself that the days are getting longer, meaning that there is more light every day. It is with that sentiment that I would like to bring light to the people I connect with this month, through my Twitter feed, possibly on Facebook, on this blog, and to the people I meet in person. I would like everyone to know that they are fabulous. Sometimes we forget this especially when we are down, in pain, or not seeing fast enough progress of our goals or in recovery. Each day on Twitter (@usingmyvoice3) I will post something to hopefully remind us all that we are fabulous and can get through tough times. Just like we have to endure the longest, short month of February with its bad weather in order to get to spring. At times in my recovery, the darkest days seemed long when in reality they were just days like every other, 24 hours long. Perspective is important.


I also think that it is important that every one of us knows they are loved. Maybe just simply because they are alive and have potential. For me, as a Catholic, I believe that we should love everybody simply because they are children of God. That is not always easy, I know. But I believe that when people are loved, they have a different attitude toward themselves and their life and others.


Maybe it’s appropriate that Valentine’s Day is in February.

I don’t usually celebrate Valentine’s Day. It’s not that I don’t have a husband or significant other. I do! And love him very much. No, it’s just that this always seems to be a day in which people give expensive gifts and those items are usually marked up for profit. I don’t need to have expensive flowers or candy. I get flowers from the market when they are inexpensive and buy myself chocolate when I want, which is usually often.

But this year, I have a different take on this Hallmark Holiday thanks to my Brain Exchange pen pal and now dear friend, Tina. She told me that she decorates for the holiday and sends cards to her friends and people in nursing homes. She also told me about the book, Somebody loves you, Mr. Hatch. I found this on book reading on YouTube.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AGAS_Aj85cA


I also found this summary on Amazon. Mr. Hatch is a sad man. His story begins with a description of him, "Mr. Hatch was tall and thin and he did not smile." The story continues by describing his daily schedule, which never varies and is dull and grey. The illustrations that accompany this first part of the story are done in washed-out and grey tones which reflects the lack of color and light in his life. One day, Mr. Hatch receives an unexpected package from the postman. He opens the box to find a heart-shaped box of candy and a simple note attached: Somebody Loves You. This small thing, a simple unexpected gift, makes Mr. Hatch smile. From here, color seeps into the pages of the book and Mr. Hatch's life. I won't give away the ending of the book. But suffice to say, it will give you that 'warm fuzzy feeling' that Valentine's day is all about.


Well, I hope you had the chance to hear the book read on YouTube (see above) because I intend to tell you what happened at the end of the book. When everything seemed to be going smoothly, the postman knocked on Mr. Hatch’s door again. He had delivered the package to Mr. Hatch by mistake. The candy and the card were meant for someone else. When Mr. Hatch heard this, he immediately thought nobody loved him. And his attitude and demeanor changed. No longer did he talk to his neighbors. No longer did he interact with his colleagues at work. No longer did he help anyone. And no longer did he bake brownies and make lemonade for the neighbors. When the neighbors found out why Mr Hatch was back to his old cranky ways, they decided to show Mr. Hatch how much he was loved. Then, everything was ok again.


Knowing at least one person cares for you does amazing things. It can improve your mood. It boosts your self esteem. It can make you want to care for others. I hope this Valentine’s Day and, in fact everyday, we can think about the power of caring / loving one another. As in the story of Mr. Hatch, it doesn't take much to show someone you care. This one small thing can change the world.


QUESTION: Can you think of something you could do this Valentines Day to show your friends and family how much you love them?


Until next time.....


__________________________________________________________________________________

To hear the blog read aloud, click this link:


https://static.wixstatic.com/mp3/353c0a_be4a0dcb610c464aa6d14fedb7e253e2.mp3

__________________________________________________________________________________






10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page