top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCheryl

Happy St. Patty's Day!

Happy St. Patrick's Day, everyone! I hope you find a way to enjoy this day. I will be making the traditional Corned Beef and Cabbage dinner. I know that is not the healthiest meal, but I only have it once a year and it brings back lots of memories of my childhood.


One of the ways that my aphasia affects me is the ability to rhyme. My SLT and I figured that out over a year ago and I've tried to work on this ability from time to time. At that time, she asked me to put on my Dr. Seuss hat and try to make a poem. (Blog post on February 14, 2021)


I haven't tried to create a lot of poetry since, but I've done a few since being in the latest BU aphasia group on Thursday mornings. I only read one aloud but I'm planning on sharing this limerick this morning if I get enough courage.


Aphasia Limerick


There once was this hidden disorder

Aphasia's the name we use for her

Mine came from a stroke

It's really no joke

It's a real communication usurper


oh I try so hard to speak better

but each time there's a word or a letter

it comes out wrong

even when it's a song

and if you're like me you're a fretter.


But still there can be a lot of hope

and lots of ways that you can cope

friends like you

you are my crew

No need to now ever really mope.


I feel extremely lucky today. Not only did I get the Wordle right in 3 tries, a person dear to my heart just got a really good new job. I'm so happy for her and wish her much happiness in this new adventure.


But what is luck anyway? I said I was lucky this morning when I completed the Wordle in just 3 tries. But was it just luck? Or was it something else? Something like having the experience with the puzzle over time. Maybe it was my strength with deciphering words, like the ability to get words on wheel of fortune. I have also spent years teaching phonics and word patterns. Could that be part of my so called “luck”? Being really Lucky would have been getting it in One try!

If you’ve followed this blog, you know that I quote the Daily OM quite often. This morning the email I received was about luck, Luck is Creation. This article spoke to me.


“Lucky people tend to be optimistic and open to new experiences, and therefore they see "lucky" opportunities when they arise. These apparent miracles manifest in many ways big and small, and they show up as gifts of fulfillment. “

“…., abundance is all around us. If we are willing to be open to what the universe has to offer, we can experience the unexpected gifts and joys that we deserve. “

I hope you see all the abundance in your own life. Even when we may have lost so much due to the stroke or other trauma, there is so much to be grateful for. Make your own luck by being open to possibilities and seek out the opportunities.





7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page